//
you're reading...
Creativity, Essential purchases, Goals, Sport, Whimsical

Breeding creativity…

Boom. Here it is. The infamously difficult follow up (blog). The difficult second album. Dissapoointing film sequel. In relative blog terms, I’ve conquered this demon. I have done what the Arctic Monkey’s failed to do. What the Wachowski’s could only dream of. What nipples on the Bat suit just didn’t achieve. Whilst I didn’t have to use 3D, a multi-million pound budget, or employ help, my stakes are probably a little lower, and if you’ve read this far, you’re already resigned to the brain numbing assault on your patience I’m about to launch. But the point is, I did it. Not only did I somehow cajole you into reading the first blog, but exams, work or life are so awful, reading this is a genuinely pleasurable experience. Get in.

If any of you have heard me talk about goals, you’ll know I preach SMART goals (specific, measurable, achievable, relevant, time based + every other derivative I can think of – agreed upon is my favourite). Not so long ago I expanded this to make them SMARTER goals. Evaluate and Reward. So often forgotten, but nonetheless essential, and is in fact what I spent the previous paragraph doing for myself. If only to make myself feel ever so slightly better about committing time to writing a blog.

Anyway, I promise there is a point to this. Specifically, a creative one. As you may imagine, and probably be all too familiar with, job hunting and figuring out what you want to achieve in life, how you’re going to do it, and why, is immensely difficult. If it were easy, we’d all be millionaires doing exactly what we want in life. Unfortunately, lots of people stricken by poverty die with loving families dependent on them, while many millionaires die alone and dissatisfied with life. Generalisation, sure, but it looks like balance in the force is not easily achieved… The only upside of this is that if you succeed, its going to be really, really awesome. Legendary, if you will. Unlike Ambramovich buying the Champions League final, ironically winning it with a poor team, and then not being able to enjoy it or at the least express his enjoyment of it. Contrast that to Bayern owner Uli Hoeneß who gave another German team €2 million in their financial crisis of 2003 to keep them afloat, has spent within his means, while said team he helped is now the Bundesliga Champions in Borussia Dortmund.

Similarly to Uli it would seem, my biggest goal is investing in others (irrespective of their position in regards to me or what I may gain from it, or indeed lose as Uli proved!). However, that requires money or time, and time requires money, in order to live. So I need money, just like everyone else in this world, and I think there’s something to be said for coming to terms with this, and not being a bit too ‘British’ about it. I’m a very visual person, and I like to write things down, and then cross them out when I realise I’m wrong (frequently) and put big shiny circles around them when I’m right (less than frequently…). My need to be creative and figure out what direction to take my life required one thing, and one thing only:

A whiteboard.

Plus pens.

And an eraser… and some screws… oh never mind.

The harder you work, the luckier you get. I’d thought about making this purchase a little in the past, but confined myself to pen and pad. However, with such a monumental life changing point in my life ahead, it really was an essential purchase. Until I realised big ones are really expensive, and no one wants a little one. So I patiently waited until an 80% offer comes on Amazon and you buy this beast for a mere £29, when it RRPs at £153. Verdict: buy. A weekend purchase, it arrived today. While every man is confident they can guess my first drawing, and yes, I had to refrain a certain housemate (not Kev or Ryan…) from doing so, I in fact put it to good use. A new Facebook profile picture!!!

This is definitely what I look like. In my mind.

Ok, so I had more than a little help from Ryan, and no, its not helpful to sorting out my future, but I definitely thought it was great usage of a whiteboard before it goes on my wall and I start doing some serious work. Sometimes, a little creativity goes a long way in making you feel good, even if there is no ‘point’ to it. It allowed Ryan to express some great creativity drawing it, and it gave me an idea for a great blog post. And a quality new Facebook profile picture. Obviously.

About mwcorbett

Operations Director, SIFE UK. Educational entrepreneur. Progressive philosopher. Gooner. And apparent blogger.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Breeding creativity…

  1. But Mark, the Arctic Monkeys second album was a great record?

    Posted by Phil | May 23, 2012, 4:58 pm
  2. Erroneous.

    Posted by emmamillard | May 23, 2012, 5:45 pm
  3. Phil, I think its fair to say I could have picked more obvious choices, but that one came straight to mind. That album genuinely upset me. But their first was a one off and entirely perfect for me at that time. Never really revisited it either on reflection…

    In fact, what is the worst second album you’ve ever bought? Anyone?

    Emma, incredible usage of the word ‘erroneous’, I sense strong feelings towards the Monkeys. Aren’t they a local band for you?!

    Posted by mwcorbett | May 25, 2012, 1:07 am
    • I know that feeling, for me it has to be the strokes room on fire! This is it? was my first ever record and it was zoo outstandingly brilliant that room on fire failed to match it. It wasn’t bad, just didn’t meet expectation.

      Posted by Phil | May 25, 2012, 6:02 pm

Leave a Reply

Archives

Twitter Updates

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers

Mark Corbett

